Teaching Placement

IC Teacher Exchange House

Home - IC Teacher Exchange House

My first day at St. Joseph’s College Layibi was about meeting the teachers, getting to know the school, and observing my partner teachers. I am working with two Geography teachers: Sylvester and

Joseph Luke (those are their Christian names…everyone has an Acholi name and Christian name). I will be working with both teachers, collaborating, exchanging practices, and learning from each other. I will be working with students in levels S2, S3, S5, and S6, which are equivalent to 8th, 9th, 11th, and 12th grades in the states. The Ugandan school system goes from Primary (levels P1-P7) to Secondary (levels S1-S4) and then Advanced (Levels S5-S6). Primary school is free or heavily subsidized by the government, but families

must pay for Secondary/Advanced school. Because of this (and the war) students are recognized by their grade levels, not their ages, for students will have interrupted schooling due to not having school fees (or not attending school because of war). Last year, at Pabo Secondary, I had students in my classes that were 15 and others who were 24. So far, I can tell that Layibi College will be a completely different experience than last year at Pabo.

About Global Bounce

Educator taking a year to travel the world and learn. On the way, keeping an interactive exchange/blog with Stanford College Prep to bring the world and lessons to the students at home.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment